Northside DFA (Democracy for America) is grassroots political organization dedicated to electing socially progressive, fiscally responsible, ethically committed Democrats to all levels of government. Northside DFA is registered as a political committee with the state of Illinois.

Northside DFA was founded in January of 2005 by Shannon Fisk and Sandra Verthein under the name Edgwater DFA. One of our first activities was to show our support for Gov. Howard Dean to be elected as chair of the DNC (Democratic National Committee). In 2007 we decided to take some bold steps to expand the group, including setting up our first-ever bank account, holding our first fundraiser, creating an database of members and holding issue forums to increase our membership. We also decided to change our name to Northside DFA.

Northside DFA is led by a steering committee of up to ten members. That committee must include a Chair and Treasurer. Due to a change in the By-Laws in 2011, the steering committee, including the chair and treasurer, are now elected by the voting members in the spring of even-numbered years.